Caretta caretta mating

IMG_5323_Caretta_caretta

This was my most unexpected wildlife encounter this spring. Strong winds from South pushed 2 mating Loggerhead Sea Turtles (Καρέττα) just by the Kifisos-Ilisos estuaries.
IMG_5239_Caretta_caretta
I was completely astonished from this spectacular view in front of my eyes (i could not include their full body in my pictures) just 5 min from my home, in the heart of Athens !!
I was observing and photographing them for more than an hour, while they were trying to mate in the high waves. When i had to go with a great delay for a meeting, they were still there “fighting”.

15/4/2014.

~ by Sterna hirundo on 17/05/2014.

Leave a Reply

 
